PC – SOS

An Internet Security Blog

SiteMeter

Posted by Bob Zenith on September 8, 2010

Several users have requested that I remove SiteMeter from this blog (not sure why they couldn’t have voted in the poll… grr…)

I’m not sure what the big deal is – you can easily block any information being sent to SiteMeter by using RequestPolicy Add-on (for Firefox) and block the destination “sitemeter.com”; or by visiting via Tor or some other proxy server.

However, my #1 goal of this site is to be completely transparent about privacy, as well as to respect users’ privacy. If visitors aren’t happy, then I’m not happy.

Thus, I am removing SiteMeter from my blog.

This still leaves the default WordPress Stats on the website; -Sorry, I cant get rid of it 😦    – But don’t worry, it is much less detailed than SiteMeter. It only includes the number of visits, the referrer (if applicable), and any links you click on. Your IP Address is not shown, nor is your OS or browser, or your location.

Thank you for your continued support.

BTW, feel free to contact me at any time with any more suggestions or improvement ideas.

Leave a Reply

