PC – SOS

An Internet Security Blog

Cookies page updated

Posted by Bob Zenith on August 18, 2010

My most important goal of this blog is to be transparent about users’ privacy, which is why I have created both a privacy policy and a separate page dedicated to cookies, web bugs, and LSOs.

Recently, I have updated the Cookies page, adjusting formatting and grammar, as well as adding more information relevant to web bugs and cookies; this includes linking to web bugs’ privacy policies and opt-out links (when applicable).

If you have any ideas on how the privacy policy or cookie page can be developed further, please feel free to contact me.
Example: I don’t use Safari, so I don’t know how to disable / control cookies; if anyone uses it, the information would be greatly appreciated.

Note: some of you meticulous visitors may have noticed the “Site Meter” badge on the right sidebar. I have not included this in the blog’s privacy policy, as I am still testing its capabilities, and I’m not sure if I will keep it. If I do decide to keep it, I will add it to the Privacy Policy.
(If anyone is curious, you can view the blog’s Site Meter stats)

2 Responses to “Cookies page updated”

  1. Spudz said

    Thanks for the Update and letting us all know what is happening here 😀

    I tend to keep my site clean of adverts that generate income for the site or others types of trackers. I regard them as invasive where some can easily exploit a visitor unknowingly. Yes lots of sites generate income to support the site itself but I feel some go that step too far. I am glad you are not one of those. For me, my site is more of a hobby that I personally pay to run and help others. It is not a commercial venture and probably will never go that way. I believe that it is too easy to become the mule for commercial advertising and tracking services if you don’t watch out.

    • Thanks for the kind words 🙂

      I wish I could crumble those 3 cookies that visitors get when coming here, but WordPress doesn’t give me access to a wp-config file; Eventually I hope to go the extra mile and get this blog on it’s own domain and get rid of those cookies… but that is something for the future.

Leave a Reply

